The Diecasting Society was formed in 1967 to represent the interests of diecasting companies and suppliers to the industry through the promotion of technology, while providing forums for discussion and debate. It works with further education establishments to better knowledge and push boundaries. It also markets the diecasting process and provides members with a medium through which to promote a healthy business environment. Coupled to this is a healthy yet balanced social scene, where industrialists share a unique experience of being amongst friends where others might not see beyond the competition.

The Diecasting Society has close links with the Aluminium Federation, the Institute of Cast Metals Engineers, the Cast Metals Federation and the Aluminium Times, as well as working in close partnership with other industry organisations to provide technical and social events for members.

The Diecasting Society is split into three regional branches – Midlands, Northern and Southern. A National Council steers the Society and offers support to the regions, and takes responsibility for the organisation of national events. Every two years the Diecasting Society stages a National Technical Conference, where members, guests and invitees have the opportunity to discuss issues across a wide range of subjects. The Diecasting Society is primarily a learned society and so runs a number of events which are designed to support the diecasting industry. Some of the papers from the Technical meetings are available on this website.

The Secretariat for the Diecasting Society is provided by the Institute of Cast Metals Engineers and the contact details are:

The Diecasting Society

ICME,National Foundry Training Centre
Elite Centre for Manufacturing Skills
Tipton Road
United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0)121 752 1810


Member Company Position
Mr Stuart Gregory Petrofer UK plc President and Chairman
Mr. Simon Olive Maxima Engineering Treasurer
Mr. Pankaj Wara Coleshill Aluminium Ltd. Chairman – Social Committee
Mr John Swift Alucast Limited Technical and Publicity Committee
Mr Stephen Gill Lupton & Place Ltd
Mr Simon Hanson HCM Engineering Ltd
Mr Jeremy Mitchell Buhler Ltd
Mr Peter Suthons Uddeholm Ltd
Mr Gregory Walker Norican Group